Podcast: 30 Years of Advancing Critical Care Medicine

Dr. J. Christopher Farmer has been helping to advance the field of Critical Care Medicine from its inception 30 years ago as a recognized subspecialty certification by the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM). Dr. Farmer has served in the U.S. Air Force, is engaged in a number of international projects to improve critical care, and is Chair of the ABIM Critical Care Medicine Board.

ABIM Vice President of Medical Research Dr. Lorna Lynn recently spoke with Dr. Farmer about the past, present and future of critical care medicine in our latest podcast celebrating the certification’s 30th anniversary and the physicians who dedicate their careers to life-saving medicine.


Dr. Farmer is a board certified internist and critical care physician. He is Chair of the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) Critical Care Medicine Board and served on the ABIM Critical Care Medicine Self-Assessment Committee. He serves as Professor and Chair, Department of Critical Care Medicine, Mayo Clinic Arizona. Dr. Farmer is a retired Air Force Colonel and Professor of Medicine and Surgery, Uniformed Services University of the Health Sciences, F. Edward Hebert School of Medicine. He is one of the founders of the Department of Defense Critical Care Aeromedical Transport Team program, the largest critical care transport system in the world. He also served as the Special Assistant to the Air Force Surgeon General for Homeland Defense and Medical Preparedness.

Dr. Lynn, a board certified internist, is Vice President of Medical Education Research at the American Board of Internal Medicine. Dr. Lynn’s first involvement with ABIM was as the Medical Secretary for the Internal Medicine Exam in 1995. During her tenure at ABIM, Dr. Lynn has worked on the development of numerous practice assessment tools, and on research related to those tools. She has leadership responsibility in providing clinical oversight for ABIM’s evolving approaches to assessment. Dr. Lynn has served on committees of the National Quality Forum and the Institute of Medicine addressing care coordination, interprofessional education, and conflicts of interest. She is a member of the Board of Directors for the American Board of Family Medicine.